Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament Ken Macintosh MSP Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP

8 April 2017

Subject: 50 POST 50

Dear Presiding Officer, Dear Members of the Scottish Parliament,

As elected representatives from across the European Union we have been heartened by your support for a Europe which is united in pursuit of progress and not divided by fear and self-interest. Democracy and mutual respect are at the heart of the European project and so, whilst we are saddened by the vote of a small majority for the United Kingdom to leave the EU, we respect this as a democratic decision of UK citizens.

We recognise that this was not your choice however and that Scotland voted strongly to remain within the EU. The question of Scotland's constitutional future, and your relationships with the UK and the EU are for the people of Scotland to decide. It is not our place to tell Scotland what path you should take.

We regret that the UK's government has chosen to follow the path of a 'hard Brexit' and has so far refused to properly take into account the preferences of Scottish citizens in the withdrawal process. Therefore, if Scotland were to become an independent country and decided to seek to maintain European Union membership, we offer our full support to ensure the transition is as swift, smooth, and orderly as possible. Scotland would be most welcome as a full member of the European Union, with your five million European citizens continuing to benefit from the rights and protections we all currently enjoy.

Yours sincerely,

Meyrem Almaci Chamber of Representatives, Belgian Parliament

Margrete Auken European Parliament

Annalena Baerbock German Parliament

Miriam Dalli European Parliament

Bruno De Lille Parliament of the Brussels-Capital Region

Giorgos Dimaras Greek Parliament

Bas Eickhout European Parliament

Tanja Fajon European Parliament

André Gattolin Senate, French Parliament

Stefan Gelbhaar Regional Parliament of Berlin

Heidi Hautala European Parliament Rasmus Andresen Regional Parliament of Schleswig-Holstein

Danielle Auroi National Assembly, French Parliament

Reinhard Bütikofer European Parliament

Jakop Dalunde European Parliament

Petra De Sutter Senate, Belgian Parliament

Pascal Durand European Parliament

Stefan Engstfeld Regional Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia

Fredrick Federley European Parliament

Silke Gebel Regional Parliament of Berlin

Ana Maria Gomes European Parliament

Madeleine Henfling Regional Parliament of Thringia Benedek Jávor European Parliament

Ska Keller European Parliament

Stefan Liebich German Parliament

Florent Marcellesi European Parliament

Sigrid Maurer National Council, Austrian Parliament

Péter Niedermüller European Parliament

Julia Reda European Parliament

Bronis Rop European Parliament

Manuel Sarrazin German Parliament

Anja Schillhaneck Regional Parliament of Berlin

Bart Staes European Parliament

Indrek Tarand European Parliament Josu Juaristi Abaunz European Parliament

Philippe Lamberts European Parliament

Juan López de Uralde Chamber of Deputies, Spanish Parliament

María Rosa Martínez Rodríguez Chamber of Deputies, Spanish Parliament

Barbara Matera European Parliament

Grace O'Sullivan Seanad Éireann (Oireachtas)

Terry Reintke European Parliament

Eamon Ryan Dáil Éireann (Oireachtas)

Ulle Schauws German Parliament

Barbara Spinelli European Parliament

Wolfgang Strengmann-Kuhn German Parliament

Yannis Tsironis Greek Parliament Claude Turmes European Parliament

Tomáš Zdechovský European Parliament Sebastian Walter Regional Parliament of Berlin

Joachim Zeller European Parliament